Argentina, Chile, Uruguay & Paraguay in World Cup bid


Representatives of Conmebol and Argentina, Chile, Uruguay and Paraguay join forces to bid for the 2030 World Cup

Argentina, Chile, Uruguay and Paraguay have submitted a joint bid to host the 2030 World Cup.

Uruguay hosted the league’s first-ever tournament in 1930 and says they want to bring the World Cup “home” when it celebrates its centenary.

“This is the dream of a continent,” said Alejandro Dominguez, president of the South American Football Confederation (Conmebol).

Spain and Portugal have also announced an offer to be joint hosts.

Uruguay defeated Argentina in the final to win the inaugural World Cup in 1930 and Dominguez spoke at the site of that victory – Montevideo’s Centenario Stadium.

“There will be more World Cups, but the cup will only be 100 once and he has to go home,” Dominguez added.

Chile hosted the World Cup in 1962, while the tournament was held in Argentina in 1978.

“It’s good that the World Cup is being organized where it all started, 100 years later,” said Ignacio Alonso, president of the Uruguayan Football Association.

The 2022 World Cup will be held in Qatar, while Canada, Mexico and the US will jointly host it in 2026.

FIFA plans to select the host for 2030 in 2024.

The football associations of the UK and the Republic of Ireland reached an agreement in February don’t bid for the 2030 World Cup and instead focus on a concerted effort to host Euro 2028.

Everything you need to know about your Premier League team bannerFooter BBC Sport Banner

Source link


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here