Nepal government coalition wins 90 of 165 seats – Times of India


KATHMANDU: The top leaders of Nepal’s ruling five-party coalition met on Monday at Prime Minister Sher Bahadur Deuba’s official residence here to discuss the general election and discuss the formation of a new government.
Nepalese Congress Chief Deuba, leader Ram Chandra Paudeldeputy director Purna Bahadur KhadkaCPN (Maoist Centre) chairman Pushpa Kamal Dahal ‘Prachanda’, Vice Chairman Narayan Kaji ShresthaCPN (Unified Socialist) Chairman Madhav Nepal and Rastria Janamorcha Vice President Durga Paudel were among those in attendance. The five-party coalition won 90 of the 165 seats in the House of Representatives.
Speaking at the meeting, the top leaders of the ruling alliance said the election result has reaffirmed the necessity and relevance of the alliance. In a statement released after the meeting, coalition leaders said the results showed that progress needs to be made in forging mutual understanding and cooperation. “It is necessary to continue the current coalition to meet the country’s challenges,” the statement said.
Senior NC leader and former deputy PM Prakash man Singh told PTI that the meeting was mainly about issues related to power sharing and government formation. Prime Minister Deuba’s Nepalese Congress has become the largest party with 57 seats. CPN (Maoist Center) has won 18 seats, CPN (Unified Socialist) 10, Loktantrik SamajwadiParty four and Rastriya Janamorcha one. Polls for the House of Representatives were held on November 20 to end the long-standing political instability that has plagued the country.
Nepal’s election commission said the opposition Communist Party of Nepal (Unified Marxist-Leninist) won 44 seats. Rastriya Swatantra Party, Rastriya Prajatantra Party and the Janata Samajwadi Party each won seven seats. Loktantrik Samajwadi Party and Nagarik Unmukti Party have won 4 and 3 seats respectively, it said.

Source link


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here