Polls Nepal: PM Deuba beats Dadeldhura; Nepal Congress ahead in election results – Times of India


KATHMANDU: Nepal’s Prime Minister Sher Bahadur Deuba was elected to the House of Representatives by a huge margin on Wednesday for the seventh consecutive time. Nepalese Congress party leading in the election results by winning 13 seats so far.
On Sunday there were elections for the House of Representatives (HoR) and seven provincial councils. The counting of the votes started on Monday.
Deuba obtained 25,534 votes against his closest rival Sagar Dhakal, an independent candidate in Dadeldhura constituency in far western Nepal. Dhakal received only 1,302 votes. Deuba has never lost parliamentary elections in his five decades of political career.
The 77-year-old President of the Nepalese Congress, Deuba, is currently serving as Prime Minister for a fifth term.
Dhakal is a young engineer, who had a verbal argument with Deuba five years ago during a public debate on a BBC Sajha Sawal programme, after which he decided to challenge Deuba by saying that now young people should be given a chance in politics and seniors like Deuba should. retire.
The ruling Nepalese Congress has so far captured 13 seats in the House of Representatives (HoR) while leading in 54 other constituencies.
Its allies – CPN-Maoist and CPN-Unified Socialist, Lokatantraik Samajwadi Party – lead with 17, 7 and 3 seats respectively.
The CPN-UML led by former Prime Minister KP Oli has won three seats so far and leads in 45 constituencies. Its ally parties – the Rastriya Prajatantra Partyj and Janata Samajwadi Party – lead with 5 seats each.
The newly formed Rastriya Swotantra Party has won three seats in Kathmandu district.
The Rastriya Prajatantra Party and Nagarik Unmukti Party secured one seat each.
The CPN-UML has received the highest number of votes under the proportional electoral system, with the party gaining 2,07,299 votes, followed by the Nepalese Congress with 1,83,352 votes. Rastriya Swotantra Party is in third place with 95,598 votes while CPN-Maoists received 86,433 votes. Similarly, the CPN Unified Socialist received 10,919 votes.
Of the 275 MPs, 165 will be elected by direct vote, while the remaining 110 will be elected by proportional electoral system. Similarly, of the total of 550 members of the seven provincial assemblies, 330 will be directly elected and 220 by the proportional method.

Source link


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here