Who is – and who is not – present at Queen Elizabeth II’s funeral?


World leaders and members of the royal family gathered in London for Queen Elizabeth’s funeral.

World leaders arrived in London to pay their last respects to Queen Elizabeth II.

The Queen, who died on September 8 at the age of 96, was given a state funeral – the first in the UK since 1965 following the wartime death of Prime Minister Sir Winston Churchill.

The 2,000-strong congregation included world leaders, members of the royal family, representatives of charities and those who have made “extraordinary contributions” to the handling of the COVID-19 pandemic.

What time is the Queen’s funeral?

The main service started shortly before 11am (10:00 GMT) at Westminster Abbey in central London, followed by a fixation service at 16:00 (15:00 GMT) in Windsor and a private service at 19:30 (18:30 GMT ).

The infographics and map below highlight some of those in attendance and those not invited:

Royal attendees

  • King Philippe and Queen Mathilde of Belgium
  • King of Bhutan Jigme Khesar Namgyel Wangchuck
  • Sultan of Brunei Hassanal Bolkiah
  • Queen Margrethe II of Denmark, Crown Prince Frederik and Crown Princess Mary
  • Emperor Naruhito and Empress Masako of Japan
  • King Abdullah and Queen Rania of Jordan
  • Crown Prince Sheikh Meshal al-Ahmad al-Sabah of Kuwait
  • King Letsie III of Lesotho
  • Hereditary Prince Alois of Liechtenstein
  • Grand Duke Henri of Luxembourg
  • Malaysian Sultan Abdullah of Pahang
  • Prince Albert II of Monaco
  • Crown Prince Moulay Hassan of Morocco
  • King Willem-Alexander and Queen Maxima of the Netherlands
  • King Harald V and Queen Sonja of Norway
  • Sultan Haitham bin Tariq al-Said of Omani
  • Emir Sheikh Tamim bin Hamad Al Thani of Qatar
  • Prince Turki bin Mohammed al Saud of Saudi Arabia
  • King Felipe VI and Queen Letizia of Spain
  • Juan Carlos, former King of Spain, and former Queen Sofia
  • King Carl XVI Gustaf and Queen Silvia of Sweden
  • King Tupou VI of Tonga
  • Sheikh Mohamed bin Zayed Al Nahyan, President of the UAE and Ruler of Abu Dhabi
  • Sheikh Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum, Vice President, Prime Minister and Defense Minister of the UAE and Ruler of Dubai

World leaders



  • President Sandra Mason of Barbados
  • Governor General Floyla Tzalam of Belize
  • Brazil President Jair Bolsonaro
  • Canadian Prime Minister Justin Trudeau
  • Jamaican Prime Minister Andrew Holness
  • Governor General Susan Dougan of St. Vincent and the Grenadines
  • President Paula-Mae Weekes of Trinidad and Tobago
  • United States President and First Lady Joe and Jill Biden


  • President Alexander Van der Bellen of Austria
  • Cyprus President Nicos Anastasiades
  • President of the European Commission Ursula von der Leyen
  • President of the European Council Charles Michel
  • President Sauli Niinisto of Finland
  • French President Emmanuel Macron
  • President Frank-Walter Steinmeier of Germany
  • Greece President Katerina Sakellaropoulou
  • Hungary’s President Katalin Novak
  • President Michael D. Higgins of Ireland
  • Taoiseach (Prime Minister) Micheál Martin of Ireland
  • President Sergio Mattarella of Italy
  • President Egils Levits of Latvia
  • Lithuanian President Gitanas Nauseda
  • President George Vella of Malta
  • NATO Secretary General Jens Stoltenberg
  • President Andrzej Duda of Poland
  • President Marcelo Rebelo de Sousa of Portugal
  • Archbishop Paul Richard Gallagher, Vatican Secretary of State

Middle East

  • Egypt Prime Minister Mostafa Madbouly
  • President Isaac Herzog of Israel
  • Palestinian Prime Minister Mohammad Shtayyeh
  • Saudi Arabia’s Foreign Minister Prince Turki bin Mohammed al Saud. Crown Prince Mohammed bin Salman (MBS) is no longer expected to attend the Queen’s funeral.


  • Christophe Mboso N’kodia, President of the National Assembly, Democratic Republic of the Congo
  • President Ali Bongo of Gabon
  • Ghana President Nana Akufo-Addo
  • President William Ruto of Kenya
  • Nigeria Vice President Yemi Osinbajo
  • Rwandan President Paul Kagame
  • President Macky Sall of Senegal
  • South Africa President Cyril Ramaphosa
  • General Abdel Fattah al-Burhan, Sudan’s military leader


  • Bangladesh Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina
  • President Droupadi Murmu of India
  • Pakistani Prime Minister Shehbaz Sharif
  • Sri Lankan President Ranil Wickremesinghe


  • Australian Prime Minister Anthony Albanian
  • Vice President Wang Qishan of China
  • Cook Islands Prime Minister Mark Brown
  • Fiji Prime Minister Frank Bainimarama
  • New Zealand Prime Minister Jacinda Ardern
  • Papua New Guinea Prime Minister James Marape
  • Head of State Tuimalealiʻifano Vaʻaletoʻa Sualauvi II, Samoa
  • Singapore President Halimah Yacob
  • President Yoon Suk-yeol of South Korea
  • Prime Minister Kausea Natano of Tuvalu
  • Solomon Islands Governor General David Vunagi

Countries not invited

Britain invited heads of state or an ambassadorial-level representative from each country with which it has full diplomatic relations.

Uninvited countries were Syria and Venezuela because London has no normal diplomatic ties. Britain also did not invite representatives from Russia, Belarus or Myanmar after it imposed economic sanctions on those countries.

Source link


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here